This Quirky Vegan

What THIS vegan eats

Vanilla nice cream

I am sure you have heard of nice cream by now. But for those of you that have not, it is frozen bananas blended to make a healthy soft serve style ice cream. You can add other things to make different flavours and of course add topping too.

I heard about nice cream a while ago but put off making it. I hate bananas and do not eat them but I wanted to see if my kids liked nice cream. I wanted to keep it simple but also give it a little extra flavour, and make it easier on my smoothie maker, so I added some vanilla Alpro yogurt.

I have seen some beautiful photos of different flavours with vibrant colours stacked upon one another. Now, my kids are 3 and 6 so mess control was a deciding factor for me not adding berries or attempting to create a beautiful tower. But if that is not the case for you then go crazy with experimenting!

Ingredients (serve 2)

  • 2 bananas
  • 2 tablespoons of vegan vanilla yogurt
  • Cacao nibs (optional)

Method

Chop the bananas and freeze for a few hours. Add them and the yogurt to a smoothie maker or blender and whizz it up until you have a soft serve ice cream. Simple!

I put it in the serving bowls and stuck it back in the freezer for a few minute to firm it up a bit more but you do not have to. I topped with cocoa nibs.

nicecream

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 10, 2016 by and tagged , , , , , , , .
