This Quirky Vegan

What THIS vegan eats

Kitchen sink bread/cakes

I sometimes make banana bread for my kids and somehow this developed into making kitchen sink bread for them. Well, really they are somewhere between bread and cakes. My younger son also really likes to get involved to help bake these and if a 3-year-old can do most of the preparation with a little guidance they must be pretty easy to make!

Since I hate bananas I cannot know for sure what they are like (sorry). But my husband eats them too so I am going to put myself on the line and say they are not inedible. What I can say for sure is my kids love them and because you can be flexible with how much/little sugar you use they are not a bad snack at all. I will give a fair warning though that if you do choose to use less sugar it is wise to make sure you are adding some dry fruit to give a bit of added sweetness.

As always my measuring is haphazard and can change a bit each time I make them. The idea of these is to use dry fruit, nuts, seeds, and/or chocolate chips you have in. So I am not going to specify any exact ones in the recipe. Raisins, almonds, and chocolate chips are generally in my cupboard so they often make it into mine but you really can work with what you have got, hence me naming them kitchen sink bread.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups self-rising flour
  • ¼ to ½ a cup of brown sugar (depending on how sweet you like them)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp of cinnamon powder
  • 3 bananas
  • 1/3 cup of oil
  • A couple of handfuls of any dried fruits, nuts, seeds, and/or chocolate chips you have in

Method

Sieve and mix together the dry ingredients then mash the banana and add that too along with the oil. Mix well and separate into cupcake moulds/wraps. Bake in the oven until golden at the top and (most importantly) a fork or kabab stick comes out clean when poked through one.

KitchenSinkBread

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 4, 2016 by and tagged , , , , , , , , .
